The Settings configure how the current project functions. These parameters may be different for each project. They include the listening ports, backup configurations, security options, Web parameters, etc.
4D provides another set of parameters, called Preferences, that apply to the 4D IDE application. For more information, refer to Preferences.
Accessing the settings
Puede acceder a la caja de diálogo Parámetros:
- using the Design > Settings... menu option
- by clicking Settings on the 4D toolbar
- on 4D Server, using the Edit > Settings... menu option
When User settings mode is enabled, Settings... is renamed Structure Settings... and two additional menu commands are available at each location:
- User Settings... gives you access to settings that can be stored externally in a user file. If these are modified, they are used instead of structure settings.
- User Settings for Data File... gives you access to settings that can be stored externally in a user file attached to the current data file. If they are modified, they are used instead of user or structure settings.
Información sobre el bloqueo
Locking can occur in both Project and Client/server modes when:
- The settings.4DSettings file is 'Read-only' (Projects only). Modifying a setting will display an alert to unlock it, if possible.
- Two or more users attempt to modify the same settings at the same time. The settings cannot be used until the first user frees it by closing the window. (Cliente/servidor únicamente)
In both cases, the settings can be opened in 'Read-only', but cannot be used until the lock is removed.
In the Settings dialog boxes, parameters whose values have been modified appear in bold:
Parameters indicated as customized may have been modified directly in the dialog box, or may have been modified previously in the case of a converted project.
A parameter still appears in bold even when its value is replaced manually with its default values. This way it is always possible to visually identify any parameters that have been customized.
Most of the settings are applied immediately. However, a few of them (such as the Startup environment setting) only take effect when the database is restarted. In this case, a dialog box appears to inform you that the change will take effect at the next startup.
Resetting the settings
To reset the parameters to their default values and remove the bold style indicating that they have been customized, click Reset to factory settings.
This button resets all the parameters of the current page. It becomes active when at least one parameter has been modified on the current page.